zondag 4 juni 2017

Book Excerpt Drakon Book Series

Book Excerpt

Hear now, men, the most sacred of the Stories of the Tribe.
This is the Story of time before yesterday, of the world before the Earth, of the Sky before the stars, and of the Goddess before the birth of man. It is the breath before the breast, countless winters before the cold. An age when the only meadow, the whole world, was a thick slime, black and shiny. No solid earth or wavy sea existed, only the mud boiling hotter than the sun and colder than ice, a sludge that neither light, nor hope, nor even time itself could penetrate.
There in the slimy, shining darkness lived an eternal Demon, alone, the only breathing thing, the ancient, eternal, immortal Snake, Darhul with the nine heads, each dressed in a different skin of black. Ravenfeather, Woodtar, Charcoal, Onyx, Blackberry, Ebonetree, Stormcloud, Nightsky, and Despair were the nine shades of black and the names of the heads of Darhul with the even darker soul.
Then, in that Yesterday—endless for man but only a heartbeat for the Immortal Goddess—as the heads of Darhul fought among themselves, Despair ripped out Charcoal’s glimmering red eye. The eye rolled down from the Demon’s head, covered in crystal tears, into the radiant black muck. A smoldering coal, the orphan red eye drank its own tears, and in the heat and cold of the mud, it transformed.
It became Light.
And thus, the First Light was born, and it took the form of a beautiful maiden, her bareness covered only with a blinding cloud of hope. And she was the Only Goddess, Enaka.
Enaka stormed on Despair, the most loathsome of Darhul’s heads, and from that moment, the First and Final War between the Goddess of Light and the Eternal Demon began. The fiery rays from the Goddess’s quiver and the icy tongues of Darhul fought until the dark slime that made up the entire world split in half. The one baked into life and became the golden earth of the steppe, and the other half melted as death and became the black sea.
The war had no end. No one could prevail. On one side, Darhul spewed black clouds from his nine doubled nostrils, and from the other side, Enaka threw screaming lightning bolts from her chariot.
Then one night, Enaka turned her milk-white winged horse, Pelor, who drew her chariot in the Unending Sky, into a brave, black-haired man and lay with him. From their love, she bore seven sons, the Seven Suns to light the entire world and burn Darhul, defeating the Darkness forever. A new world was born, and it would soon be ready to give birth to men.
Almost defeated forevermore, Darhul spat out his dying revenge. He cut off with his nine jaws his own nine heads and dipped them into his belly, steeping them in poison, making them deadly arrows. The arrows fell upon the Goddess’s newborn Suns, killing all but one. Six heads.

About the Books

Book I “The Sieve” is Book I of the epic fantasy novel Drakon.
“I am here to redeem the lives of my wife and daughter. I’ve brought the offering.” Da-Ren, an infidel barbarian, arrives at the Castlemonastery, his only offering a jar of honey.   Baagh, the Cross Sorcerer, follows him there under orders of the Emperor, demanding from the monks to transcribe the warrior’s story. Book I chronicles Da-Ren’s early years, growing up in a tribe of archer riders and pagan witches, camped north of the Blackvein River.  He enters the Sieve, the forty-day initiation trial that determines the fate of every boy and girl. Many of his comrades will fall, the strong will join the warriors, and an elite few will be marked for leadership. Da-Ren learns to endure the elements, to obey the Truths, to keep standing when all hope is lost. He swallows the legends of the OunaMa witches, learns to hate all other tribes, and conquers fear.  And yet there is one trial that will bring him to his knees. The Goddess’s favorite daughter. “Brown-haired, brown-eyed. Brown was the first color of the day.” The journey begins for the man who will become the First Blade of the Devil.  A brutal, poetic, first-person narrative of war, death, and love.   Book II

“Uncarved” is Book II of the epic fantasy novel Drakon.
“How do the Uncarved die? They bleed to death. Always.” Fourteen-winter-old Da-Ren joins the Uncarved, the chosen few destined to lead the Tribe. More than forty children train and compete for the next five springs; only one will become Khun and fulfill the Tribe’s destiny.  Da-Ren’s ambition and strength will keep him alive but can he overcome his most powerful and cunning adversary, the one favored by witches and men? The Goddess and the Ouna-Mas will try to nest in his heart, but is he prepared for the one woman he is brought up to hate? As war and hunger strangle the Tribe, the stakes of love, duty, and betrayal are higher than ever. A young man’s first kill. A young man’s first kiss. A coming-of-age tale with non-stop action.

Author Bio

C.A. Caskabel started writing Drakon in 2013 and completed the 350,000-word epic series in 2016. He plans to release the books gradually in 2016 and 2017 while he researches and writes his next series. He also works with a passionate small team that publishes primarily children’s fiction and fantasy fiction.
Prior to 2013, Chris was a serial technology entrepreneur. He has founded and led a number of start-ups in businesses such as digital marketing and renewable energy. He has led creative departments, marketing, and software product organizations in New York, San Francisco, London, and Athens.
He holds a BSc and a BA from Brown University and a PhD in Engineering from Boston University.



0 reacties:

Een reactie posten